• Earning the title of Finalist for Charlotte County Public Schools Support Employee and Teacher of the Year is an incredible honor.  Each school site had the challenge of selecting a school-based winner for each category to represent them.  School-based winners were forwarded to the district selection committee, then narrowed down to five finalists in each category.   

    The district selection committee is pleased to announce the names and school sites of the five finalists from the support and teacher categories below.  Please join us in congratulating these staff members on this incredible accomplishment!


Name Location
Denise Alexander Peace River Elementary
Emily Klossner Charlotte High
Jenee Mora Lemon Bay High
Laura Pucci Port Charlotte Middle
Christine White Neil Armstrong Elementary

Support Employees

Name Location
Melanie Eastman Charlotte Virtual
Tammy Foissett Meadow Park Elementary
Jeana Kukuk Charlotte High
Kathleen Skavroneck Deep Creek Elementary
Michele Sylvester Sallie Jones Elementary

School Based Winners

  • Charlotte County Public Schools is honored to announce the names of the school-based Support Employees and Teachers of the Year.  The staff members listed below have been nominated by their peers to represent their school-site because of their dedication and relentless passion to their profession.  Please join us in congratulating these staff members for achieving this well-deserved title.

    School-based nominees will be narrowed down to five finalists in each category.  Later this week the nominees will be narrowed down to five finalists in each category.  In January, an overall winner for the titles of CCPS Support Employee of the Year and CCPS Teacher of the Year will be announced, and will then move on to the State level. 

School Site Teacher of the Year Employee of the Year
Kingsway Elementary School Lindsey Mentzer Dorothy Miller
Neil Armstrong Elementary Christine White Mejonna Ward
Vineland Elementary Mary Daughenbaugh Tonya Huber
Sallie Jones Elementary Jessica Steyskal Michele Sylvester
Lemon Bay High School Jenee Mora Patrice Martini
Charlotte Technical College Doug Christian LIsa Fair
Charlotte Virtual School Jason Wikman Melanie Eastman
Myakka River Elementary Ashley Hickman Alicia Kenville
Charlotte High Emily Klossner Jeana Kukuk
Port Charlotte Middle Laura Pucci Mary McCall
East Elementary Susan Theriault Lisa Nicholson
Liberty Elementary Tiffany Hall Desirea Roz
Deep Creek Elementary Stephanie Adler Kathleen Skavroneck
Baker Center Claudia Nicolosi Judy Laws
Meadow Park Elementary Jill Wolfe Tammy Foissett
Punta Gorda Middle Summer Nicklas June Hart
L.A. Ainger Middle School Shawntel Dausy Hugh Todd
Peace River Elementary Denise Alexander Tim Came
Port Charlotte High School Tommy Henry Krista Platt
Murdock Middle School Zack Wheeler Jennifer Fulton
The Academy Jennifer Blanchette Marja Rash